Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

Interview Paul Benco, Pro Bodyboarder from Hawaii traveling the world!

par Island Slalom Tour 26 Mai 2013, 10:33 INTERVIEW Bodyboard

Partons à la découverte d'un bodyboarder amateur de gros slabs!!Il s'appelle paul et nous vient des Canaries et il a ptis le temps de répondre à une petite interview pour le site de l'Island Slalom Tour!

 

Could you describe you in few line?

When did you started bodyboarding and why?

 


I first started bodyboarding when I was 13 years old. My sister actually got me into the water since she was a bodyboarder herself for a few years. From the very first waves, the addiction began.

 


What do you prefer in bodyboarding, prone or dropknee and why?

 


I prefer prone since I feel I can remain deeper in barrels, and since I can attain more air when doing maneuvers above the lips. However, I still love to get up on the knee sometimes at spots that are forgiving.

 

Paul Benco 4 

 

Where do you live? Is it a good place?

 

 

Currently, I'm here in the Canary Islands, one of the most consistent and best bodyboarding spots I've found in the world. While I do miss Hawai'i at times, the waves here are more challenging and I feel I'm improving faster here than back on the North Shore.

 

 

 

 


Who is your favourite rider in Hawaii?

 


While I don't have a single favorite rider, it would be a combination of guys who I love to see bodyboard. Riders like Derek Miyashiro, Nakana Riveira, Stewy, Hubb/Dubb, Skipper, Herman Ano, Tanner McDaniel, JB Hillen, Happy Zurowski, Keahi Parker, and many others who influence my riding in one way or another.

 

Paul Benco


What is your best result in contest?

 


For big contests, like on the IBA Tour, I tied for 5th place in the Arica Challenge about 5 or 6 years ago.

 

Screen Shot 2013-05-10 at 1.20.13 PM


What is the craziest meal that you eat during a surf trip?

 


Nothing really crazy. In 2005, a group of bodyboarders and I brought a live chicken to Panaitan Island in Indonesia, but it was killed in the middle of the night by a komodo dragon lizard. So, didn't have much protein while camping on the island, and ended up losing a whole lot of weight after 23 days there. But also ended up with 10 second barrels, quite a few of them.

 

Paul Benco 2


Do you often ride skateboards?

 


I used to bomb hills years ago, but for the same reason as many surfers and bodyboarders, I stopped doing it since I kept getting injured.

 


Island Slalom Tour is a series of skateboarding contests on tiny french islands where nobody has ever skated! We are like Captain Cook of Hawaii in 1600! Except we have now motor boats and concrete roads... What do you think about this?

 


That's very cool. I hope the people in these islands love the idea too! I wish there'd be more support like this in bodyboarding, searching new waves and having contests at them when the waves are firing.

 

Paul Benco 5


What is your biggest Wipe Out?

 


I've had several in my life. Biggest one though was probably at Pipeline some years ago. I don't remember hitting my head on the reef, but luckily I regained conscious and I swam to the surface. I ended up with 8 stapes in the back of my head. What's funny is that Kelly Slater and I were at the same spot for the wave, a solid double up one, and he didn't seem like he wanted it at all! Damn heavy one. Anyway, I took the wave instead and paid the price.

 

 


One morning, you wake up ,You arrive in your kitchen and suddenly,you see a genius in wetsuit! He says, ” Hey Paul, I can offer you 2 magic gifts! What do you want?

 


Hard question. First, for more magic gifts. Second, 7 hour session at Supersuck with my best friends.

 

Paul Benco 8


How would you define a good session ?

 


Feeling happy to be alive when I'm done.

 


Do you have sponsors?

 


Core Bodyboards, Kynay Wetsuits, The Alpha Campaign, LINK Store, Ranes Fitness Gym in Hawaii, and Freedom Fins.

 

po


A last Word ?

 


Search and you shall find.

 

 

Et ici plus de 150 interviews de riders de toute la france et ailleurs! 

L'asso Island Slalom Tour donne la parole au Boadyboarders!! 


INTERVIEW Bodyboard

 

Interview Ben Player, World Champion 2005 and 2007

 

Interview Cesar Bauer , IBA DKWT World Champion 2010

 

Interview Andre Botha , World Champion 1997 et 1998

 

Interview Jeff Hubbard, double champion du monde de bodyboard

 

Interview Manny Vargas, IBA Live webcast commentator!

 

Interview Manuel Centeno, Champion du monde et d'europe 2006

 

Interview Tanner Mcdaniel,US bodyboad champion -12 ans

 

Interview Alan Munoz, Bodyboarder pro from chilie!

 

Interview Jacob Romero, Bodyboarder Pro de Mauii

 

Interview Pierre Louis Costes (PLC)

 

Interview Jipé Riou, Bodyboarder breton

 

INTERVIEW Bodyboard

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
commentaires

Haut de page