Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

Interview Angie Pote, Kneeboard rider from South Africa!

par Island Slalom Tour 27 Janvier 2013, 17:49 INTERVIEW Kneeboard

Direction l'Afrique du Sud à la découverte d'une kneeboardeuse qui charge des bombes avec son kneeboard!!Elle s'appelle Angie Pote et j'ai le plaisir de vous présenter cette rideuse à travers une interview exclusive!!

 

Could you describe you in few line?

 

I'm 33, grew up in Durban, my first introduction to kneeboarding was when I was 13 or so, it resulted in my front teeth through my lip and consequently it never caught on and I stuck to standup surfing an bodyboarding.

 

 kneeboard-south-africa-angie-pote 3

 

When did you started kneeboard and why?

 

 

Due to work commitments I moved away from the coast and stopped surfing, when I moved back to the coast I took up kneeboarding and having riding for the past 2 years.

 

 

Where do you live?! is it a good place?

 

 

 

I live in Scottburgh on the kzn south coast, South Africa, ita nice quiet sleepy coastal town and in winter the waves get sooo good.

 

kneeboard-south-africa-angie-pote 1

 

What do you like in kneeboard?

 

 

I like the versatility of kneeboarding, it also brings you closer to the face of the wave which on bigger days is quite a rush.

 

 

Island Slalom Tour is a series of skateboarding contests on tiny french islands where nobody has ever skated! We are as Captain cook at Hawaii in 1600! Except we have now motor boats and concrete roads... What do you think about this?

 

 

I think it's pretty cool been able to introduce alternative sports to tiny out of way places.

 

kneeboard-south-africa-angie-pote 4

 

Describe your biggest Wipe Out!

 

 

It was a 4ft day at on of the beachies at home, I took off late and hit a bump in the flats, fell off to the side and impacted my ribs, it felt like hitting concrete, 2 days later when the pain was to much I went for xrays and it turned out I broke to ribs.

 

kneeboard-south-africa-angie-pote 9

 

One morning, you wake up ,You arrive in your kitchen and suddenly,you see a genius in wetsuit! He say:” Hey Darren, I can offer you 2 magic gifts! What do you want?

 

 

1. To win the lotto so I can retire.
2.Use the lotto money to surf around the world.

 

kneeboard-south-africa-angie-pote 2

 

 

How would you define a good session ?

 

 

4 to 6ft long rights with barrels an wall's to do turns on with a few fellow kneelos.

 

 

If you were stranded on a desert island in iroise sea that already has a plentiful resource of skateboarding what three things would you bring?

 

 

My kneeboard incase there waves, a camera to photograph the skateboarders (I don't see myself hopping on a skateboard any time soon again), and my fiancee.

 

kneeboard-south-africa-angie-pote 5

 

 

In which town in the world would you dream to go riding with yout kneeboard?

 

 

Indonesia... somewhere...

 

 

Who is the best rider in the world for you?

 

 

Chayne Simpson, Troy Simpson and Simon Farrer, there are not many videos of kneels, and watching video clips of these 3 guys is mindblowing, Simons style is so smooth as to how he links up his moves together, Chayne and Troy are just tear waves to shreds withstand some insane turns.

 

kneeboard-south-africa-angie-pote 7

 

You make stand up now!!What is differeny with kneeboard?

 

 

I find there are alot of similarities between the two, but also they are so different because of the different body positions used.

 

 

Do you have sponsors?

 

 

No sponsors.

 

kneeboard-south-africa-angie-pote 8

 

A last Word ?

 

 

Wish more people would could be exposed to Kneeboarding, I get asked by alot of groms, is that a bodyboard or a surfboard? Kneeboarding is seen as uncool and people need to recognise it is just another way of having fun and been able to express yourself in the water.

 

 

 INTERVIEW Kneeboard

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
commentaires

Haut de page