Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

Interview John Bilderback, Pro Photographer Surf, Kitesurf...

par Island Slalom Tour 29 Juin 2012, 06:44 INTERVIEW Photographe

John fait parti des photographes reconnus dans le monde du surf et du kitesurf,beaucoup de ces clichés ont fait le tour du monde!Jonh a vécu 25 ans à Hawaii ce qui en fait un gars bien cool et il a rpis le temps de répondre à une interview pour l Island Slalom Tour!

2739_73543867294_6976530_n.jpg

 

Where do you come from ?

 

I am originally from Long Beach Island, New Jersey in the USA. It is a long thin strip of sand with decent waves (for the Atlantic ocean).I've spent the last 25 years on the North Shore of Oahu in Hawaii. For surfing, Oahu has incredible waves. Within five miles we have Waimea, Backdoor, Pipeline and Sunset Beach. All are some of the best and most famous waves in the world.

 

John-bilderback-surf-photo-1.png

 

Could you tell me when and how did you get the urge to make pics?

 

John-bilderback-surf-photo-6.jpg

 

My love for surfing and my love for photography merged in college at UCSD. I began taking surfing pictures and submitting them to SURFING Magazine. In 1988 they offered to pay me more money if I moved to Hawaii. It was an easy decision. I studied photography all through school, and worked as an assistant to many photographers, some of them very famous. I've worked on every kind of photo shoot there is, from food to fashion to automobiles

 

John-bilderback-surf-photo-2.jpg

 


Your influences in this area? Happens to you there to exchange ideas with other photographers? And if so, which ones?

 

John-bilderback-surf-photo-7.jpg

 

I often share ideas and inspirations with other photographers, as I'm very open about what excites me. The ocean must be my greatest source of inspiration, and the incredible athletes them selves, I have great respect for people who excel in the ocean and are comfortable in big waves.

 

John-bilderback-surf-photo-3.jpg

 

This job requires a lot of implications, dedication and sometimes sacrifices, what advice would you give to someone who wants to follow in your footsteps?

 

John-bilderback-surf-photo-8.jpg

 

My advice for young photographers is the same advice I give anyone. To be happy you must do what you love. Do it long enough, and well enough and you will find a way to make it your life. Life is short and you should do what makes you happiest and most fulfilled, whatever the cost. I've been scared for my life several times and I"m very grateful to have seen and shared the amazing sights I've come across. Always reach beyond your grasp, and learn, learn, learn.

 

John-bilderback-surf-photo-4.jpg


Do you have a website where we ca see your pics ?

 

John-bilderback-surf-photo-9.jpg

 

. .My photos can be seen at surfphotos.com, johnbilderback.com and kite.surfphotos.com

 

John-bilderback-surf-photo-5.jpg


A last word ?

 

. Aloha!

John-bilderback-surf-photo-10.jpg

 

Thanks a lot!


Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
commentaires

Haut de page